SUPRA Council

SUPRA is governed by a Council of democratically elected members. This council is responsible for all aspects of the governance of SUPRA, and for representating postgraduate students at the University of Sydney. The council term is 1 July to 30 June every year. Being on council is a great way to get involved and make a difference to the life of postgraduate students at the University of Sydney.

Council meets at least once a month and considers all the matters of governance relevant to the organisation. Members who are not councillors are invited to observe and participate in council, though they will not have voting rights. Council is run according to formal meeting procedures as outlined in our Rules of Order. These are designed to facilitate discussion.

The council consists of  33 councillors. Of these, 27 are elected through the General Election (General Councillors) and 6 are autonomously elected through the Equity Elections (Equity Officers). Council reserves 12 positions for students identifying as women, 6 positions for international students, 6 positions for coursework students, 6 positions for research students, and 3 positions for students located at campuses other than Camperdown/Darlington.

SUPRA Executive

Co-President: Yige Peng
Co-President: Weihong Liang
Co-Vice President: Chang Wang
Co-Vice President: Di Wang
Treasurer: Minran Liu
Co-Secretary: Siying Li
Co-Secretary: Xinxin (Frona) Wan
Co-Education Officer: Yinfeng (Benny) Shen
Co-Eduction Officer: Xuetong (Jessy) Tao
Co-Director of Student Publications: Sky Xie
Co-Director of Student Publications: Moxuan (Agatha) Chang

Find out more about executive roles and duty statements.

General Councillors

The current General Councillors are:

  • Shengyang Li
  • Yuxin Jiang
  • Arash Araghi
  • Crystal Zhang
  • Maruge Zhao
  • Yun Zhou
  • Zhoupin Sun
  • Ada Choi
  • Di Liu
  • Sihan (Christine) Liu
  • Lu Xu

Equity officers

The current equity officers are:

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Officer: Lindsay McCabe
International Officer: Weihui (Elma) Song
Deputy International Officer: Jingxin (Janice) Zhang
Women’s Officer: Penny Li
Deputy Women’s Officer: Yue (Isabella) Chen
Disabilities Officer: Eva Midtgaard
Deputy Disabilities Officer: Gemma Lucy Smart
Queer Officer: Joseph Jordan Black
Deputy Queer Officer: Yuning Zhang
Satellite Campus Officer: Cheuk Hang Clara Ma

Find out more about the equity networks. Please email the President to enquire about a vacant equity position:

Get all the benefits – become a SUPRA member

 • Get involved with your postgrad community.

• Get involved in the decision-making that affects your studies.

• Get free, confidential, independent, professional advice.