1. Home
  2. Get involved
  3. Council Elections
  4. SUPRA Council Elections 2024

SUPRA Elections 2024

SUPRA Council General Election 2024

The General Election is the main election to instate twenty seven (27) General Councillors. The General Election is now complete and the elected candidates have been announced. The candidates who have been elected to council will begin their term on Monday 1 July 2024 and continue until Monday 30 June 2025, or until they resign from council.

The notice of election was issued on Tuesday 12 March 2024. Read the full notice.

All dates and times on this page refer to Australian Eastern Standard Time (Sydney time).

Election results

The election for the 2024–25 SUPRA Council has concluded. View the election results.

The Returning Officer’s report on the General Election will be delivered at the SUPRA Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Monday 13 May 2024.

Office Bearers appointed

On Monday 27 May a meeting of council-elect appointed the council Office Bearer roles for the 2024–25 term. The councillors-elect listed below will start their positions on 1 July 2024.

Co-Presidents: Xinxin (Frona) Wan and Xiaoyun (Vivian) Bai
Co-Vice Presidents: Xingyan Zhou and Qiuming Zhang
Education Officer: Weihong Liang
Co-Secretaries: Yuhang Li and Venkata Vishal Kotari
Treasurer: Jinyi (Dorothy) Liu
Co-Directors of Student Publications: Anne Ailina Li and Xuan (Kate) Zhang
Co-Community Engagement Officers: Dihao Zhu and Xinghuan Wang

Candidate and ticket statements

View the full list of candidates and tickets.

Complaints and Disputes

If you believe that a person has acted in a way that would undermine the integrity of the election, or otherwise contravene the SUPRA Constitution or SUPRA Electoral Regulations, please contact the Returning Officer at returning.officer@supra.usyd.edu.au with a brief and clear explanation of your concern.

Timeline and announcements

All dates and times refer to Australian Eastern Standard Time (Sydney time).

Call for nominations

Tuesday 12 March – Tuesday 26 March 2024

Nominations closed at 3pm, Tuesday 26 March 2024.

Candidates announced

Tuesday 2 April 2024

Candidates have been announced.

Read all candidate and ticket statements.

Voting open

Tuesday 9 April – Wednesday 24 April 2024

Voting is now closed.

Voting closed at 5pm, Wednesday 24 April 2024.

Election results

Friday 26 April 2024

The General Election has concluded. View election results.

Regulations and policy

SUPRA Constitution

The Constitution is the main governing document for SUPRA. Many aspects of elections are outlined within it.

Download Constitution [PDF, 453KB]

SUPRA Electoral Regulations

These regulations support the Constitution, and further outline many election processes.

Download Electoral Regulations [PDF, 236KB]

Other regulations and policies

Other policies and regulations are relevant to elections, including the Councillor Code of Conduct and Safer Spaces policies.

Find all SUPRA policies and regulations

SUPRA Equity Officer Elections

The equity officers for the 2024–25 term are not elected at the SUPRA Council General Election. Equity officer elections are run autonomously by each network. Find out more about our student equity networks.

Congratulations to the following winners of the equity officer elections:

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Officer: Brendan Loizou

Disabilities Officer: Gemma Smart

International Student Officer: Zhenzhen Liu

Satellite Campus Officer: Ahjeong Yoo

Queer Officer: Haolong Liao

Women’s Officer: Yiman Wu.

Get all the benefits – become a SUPRA member

Get involved with your postgrad community

Get involved in the decision-making that affects your studies

Get free, confidential, professional advice